Sunday, January 23, 2011

The "Hunger Games" Series by Suzanne Collins

Published: 2008, 2009, 2010
Read: 2010
Genre: Fantasy
Setting: Dystopic Future
Rating: 4

All three books are very quick reads.  Engrossing story, captivating characters, interesting plot.  Life and death situations of the most horrible kind - involving innocent children.  Very gory and graphic.  Clever story world - everything made sense within it.  Personally, very disturbed by how little value is place on lives in this book.  Being a YA, it troubles me how prevalent “death” is in teen media (books, movies, TV, video games).  I fear young people being de-sensitized to it.  As a writer, can learn about the tight and fast-moving plot.  Description of the story world via dialogue, summary and description.  Likeable heroine in Katniss.

Story Synopsis
The Hunger Game series for young adults is an dark action/drama set in a dystopic society.  The US is divided into 13 districts with the Capital as the center of power.  The Capital established the Hunger Games as a consequence for the unsuccessful uprising attempt over 70 years ago. An annual event, it is meant as a horrible reminder as each district must send two children to compete in gladiator type games that are televised throughout the country.  There is only one survivor.  These children must be prepared to kill or be killed.

No comments:

Post a Comment